History

The association started in 1987, as the Ontario Mineral Exploration Federation (OMEF), to provide input in the drafting of the new Mining Act for Ontario. In December of 1994 the name was changed to the Ontario Prospectors Association, to reflect the membership and its relationship to the regional prospecting groups. The OPA is well respected for its ethical standards and strict code of conduct adhered to by all members

By early 2000, the OPA Restructuring Committee (OPARC), along with support from the Northern Ontario Heritage Fund Corporation and the Ontario Ministry of Northern Development and Mines retained consultants to assist with finalizing the new OPA strategic and operations plan. The OPA was restructured into a member driven organization, joining all the regional groups into one, stronger, provincial voice.

Goals

The OPA predicts its future membership of 3,000 to have Province wide representation and to be an effective lobbying group on government, taxation, land access and environmental policies. We will be an information source for the media designed to foster exploration and development awareness and connect buyers and sellers of properties. The OPA will design and promote prospector development initiatives that support grassroots exploration.

Within 3 to 5 years the OPA will be financially self-sufficient; operating and effective, well managed organization with full-time staff, contract specialists and a proactive, competent Board of Directors. We will establish a communications network through the Internet and industry publications and provide leadership on issues that affect exploration in Ontario.

Objectives

The objectives of the Ontario Prospectors Association are to represent and further the interests of the mineral exploration industry and the interests of prospectors. Our mission is to enhance and promote the Ontario mineral exploration and development community to foster a healthy mining industry.

ONTARIO PROSPECTORS ASSOCIATION - BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2015-2016

POSITION

NAME

GROUP

TELEPHONE 

EMAIL

President

Joshua Bailey

SPDA

705.662.0112

jbailey@wallbridgemining.com

Vice President

Bill MacRae

PPDA

705.264.2406 cell:705.353.0177

macrae.geo@ntl.sympatico.ca

Treasurer

David Hunt

APGO

807.345.6285

d21hunt@shaw.ca

Secretary

Wally Rayner

At Large

416.487.0921 cell:416.509.4357

wrayner0522@gmail.com

Director

Joe Barr

SOPA

613.561.5680

jrbarr@kingston.net

Director

Philip Bousquet

OMA

416.364.9301 x.226

pbousquet@oma.on.ca

Director

Bob Chataway

NWOPA

807.344.8151 cell:807.621.9451

chataway@tbaytel.net

Director

Gino Chitaroni

NPA

705.648.9956

ginochitaroni@hotmail.com

Director

Roger Dufresne

NPA

705.567.3725

rdoodoo@ntl.sympatico.ca

Director

Steven Flank

NWOPA

807.630.6980

sflank@transitionmetalscorp.com

Director

Michael Fox

BPA

807.472.6147

mfox@foxhighimpact.com

Director

Peter Harvey

PPDA

705.465.5901

pcharvey@hotmail.ca

Director

Scott Jobin-Bevans

At Large

647.405.3632

scott.jb@caraclecreek.com

Director

John McCance

SOPA

613.634.1821 cell:613.540.4804

john@mccance.ca

Director

Roger Poulin

SPDA

705.897.6216

rmineral@isys.ca

Director

Jim Ralph

SDPA

705.949.2629

jimg.ralph@fibreop.ca

Director

Delio Tortosa

SDPA

705.946.1040

dtortosa@vianet.ca

Director

Mike Weirmeir

At Large

705.682.9297

mweirmeir@wallbridgemining.com

Director

Lesley Williams

PDAC

416.362.1969

lwilliams@pdac.ca

Director TBD BPA    

APGO=Association of Professional Geoscientists of Ontario    

BPA=Boreal Prospectors Association

NPA=Northern Prospectors Association                                  

NWOPA=Northwestern Ontario Prospectors Association

OMA=Ontario Mining Association                                          

PDAC=Prospectors & Developers of Canada

PPDA=Porcupine Prospectors & Developers Association        

SDPA=Sault & District Prospectors Association

SOPA=Southern Ontario Prospectors Association                  

SPDA=Sudbury Prospectors & Developers Association