History

The association started in 1987, as the Ontario Mineral Exploration Federation (OMEF), to provide input in the drafting of the new Mining Act for Ontario. In December of 1994 the name was changed to the Ontario Prospectors Association, to reflect the membership and its relationship to the regional prospecting groups. The OPA is well respected for its ethical standards and strict code of conduct adhered to by all members

By early 2000, the OPA Restructuring Committee (OPARC), along with support from the Northern Ontario Heritage Fund Corporation and the Ontario Ministry of Northern Development and Mines retained consultants to assist with finalizing the new OPA strategic and operations plan. The OPA was restructured into a member driven organization, joining all the regional groups into one, stronger, provincial voice.

Goals

The OPA predicts its future membership of 3,000 to have Province wide representation and to be an effective lobbying group on government, taxation, land access and environmental policies. We will be an information source for the media designed to foster exploration and development awareness and connect buyers and sellers of properties. The OPA will design and promote prospector development initiatives that support grassroots exploration.

Within 3 to 5 years the OPA will be financially self-sufficient; operating and effective, well managed organization with full-time staff, contract specialists and a proactive, competent Board of Directors. We will establish a communications network through the Internet and industry publications and provide leadership on issues that affect exploration in Ontario.

Objectives

The objectives of the Ontario Prospectors Association are to represent and further the interests of the mineral exploration industry and the interests of prospectors. Our mission is to enhance and promote the Ontario mineral exploration and development community to foster a healthy mining industry.

ONTARIO PROSPECTORS ASSOCIATION - BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2018-2019

POSITION

NAME

GROUP

TELEPHONE 

EMAIL

President

David LaRocque

NPA

705.643.2345

david@cxsltd.com

Vice President

 

 

 

 

Treasurer

Steven Flank

NWOPA

807.630.6980

steve.flank@gmail.com

Secretary

David Leng

APGO

905.537.5377

dleng@rgcinc.ca

Director

Joshua Bailey

SPDA 705.662.0112

joshua.bailey@exirominerals.com

Director

Breanne Beh NWOPA 807.356.6330

bbeh@probemetals.com

Director

Philip Bousquet

OMA

416.364.9301 x.226

pbousquet@oma.on.ca

Director

Colin Bowdidge

At Large

807.621.1085

colin.bowdidge@gmail.com

Director

Gino Chitaroni

NPA

705.648.9756

ginochitaroni@hotmail.com

Director

Gary Grabowski

NPA

705.642.3408

garygrabowski51@gmail.com

Director

Michael Fox

BPA

807.472.6147

mfox@foxhighimpact.com

Director

Peter Harvey

PPDA

705.465.5901

pcharvey@hotmail.ca

Director

Bill MacRae

PPDA

705.365.3267

macrae.geo@ntl.sympatico.ca

Director

John McCance

SOPA

613.634.1821 

john@mccance.ca

 

       

Director

Jim Ralph

SDPA

705.949.2629

jimralph@shaw.ca

Director

Frank Santaguida

At Large

905.809.2269

franks@mirageoscience.com

Director

Delio Tortosa

SDPA

705.946.1040

dtortosa@vianet.ca

Director Lesley Williams PDAC 416.362.1969 lwilliams@pdac.ca

APGO=Association of Professional Geoscientists of Ontario    

BPA=Boreal Prospectors Association

NPA=Northern Prospectors Association                                  

NWOPA=Northwestern Ontario Prospectors Association

OMA=Ontario Mining Association                                          

PDAC=Prospectors & Developers of Canada

PPDA=Porcupine Prospectors & Developers Association        

SDPA=Sault & District Prospectors Association

SOPA=Southern Ontario Prospectors Association                  

SPDA=Sudbury Prospectors & Developers Association